Back to all results


Hi! My name is Paul Bateman. I have been a paid and unpaid carer for the past 25 years. I have worked in care homes as well as working for individual in their own homes. I am a firm believer of keeping people living as independently as possible in their own homes with the support of family and others.

I am also a firm believer that care and assistance in your own home is a big step. You are trusting someone you do not know and letting them into your life. Therefore this care and support should be provided by an individuals with whom you have time to build up a working relationship with. To me that means having the same person/s visit rather than the pot luck of agency staff where you will often get a variety of people, many of which you have not seen before and who do not know you. I have had over 20 experience of this type of care/support and I find it wanting.

Paul`s independent care and support is different to so many of the larger faceless providers. There is no jargon or obsession with ticking boxes. The care and support that I give is truly centred to you and tailored to your needs. It is you and your family who decide my role. No backroom admin departments or management teams, just you. I am fully aware that this involves a great deal of trust from you. I am fully DBS checked and have a number of testimonials from people with whom I have worked and people who I have worked for. This may go some way to helping you believe I am worthy of such trust.

During my 25 years of care work I have been involved in all aspects of personal care and have experience with assisting the elderly, people with a learning disability, people who have suffered strokes, people who have behaviour which society finds challenging, people living with dementia, people with mental health problems and people who have suffered from head injuries. I have also assisted people with a wide variety of medical issues from helping with medication, peg feeding, epilepsy, insulin monitoring and catheter care. My knowledge of epilepsy and seizure control is particularly detailed.

As well as the more personal care side I have also had experience of helping people in their everyday lives such as helping around the garden. doing jobs within the house, assisting people with medical appointments and assisting people to access the community. I am a friendly and very caring person who loves to help others. I find it amazing that you can be paid to do a job that provides you with so much job satisfaction. Helping others in need is really a reward in itself and that is why I have been involved with voluntary organisations and just helped out neighbours who have appeared to be in need but did not know who to ask.

I offer a friendly face, one who is hard working, trustworthy and reliable. Somebody who will always put your needs first Somebody who will be professional yet at the same time build a bond with the person with whom I am working for which will enable me to provide the best possible service! I will respect your confidentiality at all times and value everybody as an individual. My aim is to offer people more control in their lives and to enable them to live as independently as possible.

I have an NVQ in adult social care as well as evidence of training in all aspects of social care, manual handling, food hygiene etc. Services that I offer, Personal care needs. Help with washing, dressing, eating/drinking, medication. I have extensive experience of many personal care needs including more complicated procedures such as peg feeding, challenging behaviour, dementia, mental health, acquired brain injury, catheter care and diabetic care & House sitting. Temporary care for an individual while family member goes shopping or has a break, Dog walking. Helping people to look after and keep their pets when they are unable to provide them with regular exercise.

Driving to medical appointments and hospital appointments no matter how far. I have comprehensive and business insurance and so I am happy to drive individuals and family members to meet such appointments. I also have extensive experience of transferring people with limited mobility. I am able to take wheelchairs but cannot take a person who cannot transfer from the wheelchair to the car seat.

Helping with Garden maintenance and general maintenance around the house. I am more than capable of helping to keep gardens under control and well maintained as well as helping with basic DIY jobs around the home.

Service information

Phone number077365 67902
WebsiteExternal website
Spaces availableYes
Cost information£16 to £18 per hour.

About this provider

Help in the Home or Garden

Personal Care

Social and Community Support

Blackdown Hills


Burnham on Sea


North Petherton


Somerset Levels



Is this information correct?

If information on this record is incorrect or outdated please let us know by emailing us at